Academy Awards Student Oscars

Every winter movie buffs gather around the small screen to learn who won the annual awards for productions on the big screen.

For over 40 years the Academy has also been awarding college students for their film work; 2016 has proven to be a record-breaking year for those student film makers.


The Academy has selected 17 students out of 1,749 entries for the 2016 Student Academy Awards. The winners were selected from entries from 381 colleges and universities – 95 of them from outside of the United States.

Those 17 winners will also be eligible for inclusion into the 2017 Academy Awards.

Past Student Academy Award winners include Spike Lee, Trey Parker, Pete Docter, John Lasseter, Cary Fukunaga, and Robert Zemeckis.

Maharishi University of Management, DePaul Univeristy, Michigan State University, The Polish National Film, Television and Theater School have all earned first-time honors this year.

In another first, the Foreign Film category has been divided into narrative, animation, and documentary awards.

The winners will receive their awards in a gala Beverly Hills event on September 22. Each category has gold, silver, and bronze awards.

The winners of the 2016 Student Oscar Awards:

“All These Voices” by David Henry Gerson from the American Film Institute
“Cloud Kumo” by Yvonne Ng from the City College of New York
“The Swan Girl” by Johnny Coffeen from Maharishi University of Management

“Die Flucht” by Carter Boyce from DePaul University
“Once Upon a Line” by Alicja Jasina from USC
“The Wishgranter” by Echo Wu from Ringling College of Art and Design

“Fairy Tales” by Rongfei Guo from New York University
“4.1 Miles” by Daphne Matziaraki from the University of California Berkeley
“From Flint: Voices of a Poisined City” by Elise Conklin from Michigan State University

“It’s Just a Gun” by Brian Robau from Chapman University
“Nocturne in Black” by Jimmy Keyrouz from Columbia University
“Rocket” by Brenna Malloy from Chapman University

Foreign Narrative:
“Invention of Trust by Alex Schaad from University of Television and Film in Munich, Germany
“Tenants” by Klara Kochanska from The Polish National Film, Television and Theatre School in Poland
“Where the Wood End” by Felix Ahrens from the Film University Babelsberg – KONRAD WOLF Germany

Foreign Animation:
“Ayny” by Ahmad Saleh from the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne, Germany

Foreign Documentary:
“The Most Beautiful Woman” by Maya Sarfaty from Tel Aviv Uniersity in Israel


Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *