NFL Hall of Fame Names Finalists

On January 3 the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced the finalists for this year’s induction into the Hall of Fame later this year. The Hall chose 15 modern era finalists from the list of 26 semi finalists that were eligible for induction into The Hall. A player becomes eligible five years after his retirement from the game.

There are also three other finalists were named last year – Seattle Seahawks safety Kenny Easley, Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, and former NFL Commissioner Paul Tagliabue.

The modern era finalists are:
Safety Brian Dawkins who played for the Philadelphia Eagles and Denver Broncos
Defensive end Jason Taylor who played for the Miami Dolphins, Washington Redskins, and New York Jets
Running back LaDainian Tomlinson who played for the San Diego Chargers and the New York Jets
Kicker Morten Andersen who played for the New Orleans Saints, Atlanta Falcons, New York Giants, Kansas City Chiefs, and Minnesota Vikings
Coach Don Coryell who coached for the St. Louis Cardinals and the San Diego Chargers
Quarterback Kurt Warner who played for the St. Louis Rams, New York Giants, and Arizona Cardinals
Running back Terrell Davis who spent his entire career of six years with the Denver Broncos
Wide receiver Isaac Bruce who played for the Los Angeles Rams and the San Francisco 49ers
Terrell Owens who played for the San Francisco 49ers, the Philadelphia Eagles, the Dallas Cowboys, the Buffalo Bills, and the Cincinnati Bengals
Offensive tackle Tonhy Boselli who played for the Jacksonville Jaguars and Houston Texans
Guard Alan Faneca who played for the Pittsburgh Steelers, New York Jets, and the Arizona Cardinals
Offensive Tackle Joe Jacoby who spent his entire career with the Washington Redskins
Cornerback Ty Law who played for the New England Patriots, New York Jets, Kansas City Chiefs, and the Denver Broncos
Safety John Lynch who played for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the Denver Broncos
Center Kevin Mawae who played for the Seattle Seahawks, New York Jets, and the Tennessee Titans

Seven of the 15 players named were finalists for the first time with three of them named in their first year of eligibility – Brian Dawkins, Jason Taylor and LaDainian Tomlinson.

The newest inductees will be announed on Super Bowl eve.

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *