2017 Blues Music Award Nominees

The annual Blues Music Awards will be held on May 11 in Memphis, Tennessee. The Blues Foundation has revealed the nominees for those annual awards.

Sugar Ray Norcia and his band, The Bluetones, leads the list of nominees with seven and guitarist, Toronzo Cannon, follows with four.

A number of artists are up to repeat their award wins including Cedric Burnside, Kim Wilson, Shemekia Copeland and Bettye LaVette.

The nominees for the 2017 Blues Music Awards are:

Best Acoustic Album:
“Live in Europe” by Doug MacLeod
“The Happiest Man in the World” by Eric Bibb
“Professin’ he Blues” by Fiona Boyes
“Live at Briggs Farm” by Jimmy “Duck” Holmes
“Stand Your Ground” by John Long
“Blues and Ballads (A Folksinger’s Songbook) Vol I and II” by Luther Dickinson

Best Artist Artist:
Doug MacLeod
Eric Bibb
Fiona Boyes
Jimmy “Duck” Holmes
Luther Dickinson

Best Album:
“Porcupine Meat” by Bobby Rush
“Bloodline” by Kenny Neal
“From the Root to the Fruit” by the Nick Moss Band
“Seeing is Believing” by Sugar Ray and the Bluetones
“The Chicago Way” by Toronzo Cannon
“This is Where I Live” by William Bell

Best Band:
Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue
Lil’ Ed & The Blues Imperials
Nick Moss Band
Sugar Ray and the Bluetones
Tedeschi Trucks Band

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year:
Joe Bonamassa
John Nemeth
Lil’ Ed Williams
Sugar Ray Norcia
Sugaray Rayford

Best Emerging Artist Album:
“Corey Dennison” by the Corey Dennison Band
“Truth” by Guy King
“Tengo Blues” by John Del Toro Richardson
“My Blue Soul” by Terrie Odabi
“Honest Woman” by Thornetta Davis

Best Contemporary Blue Album:
“Mid Century Modern” by Al Basile
“Blood Line” by Kenny Neal
“From the Root to the Fruit” by the Nick Moss Band
“Give it Back to You” by The Record Company
“The Chicago Way” by Toronzo Cannon

Best Contemporary Female Blues Artist:
Alexis P Suter
Ana Popovic
Janiva Magness
Shemekia Copeland
Susan Tedeschi

Best Contemporary Blues Male Artist:
Albert Castiglia
Kenny Neal
Mike Zi
Sugaray Rayford
Toronzo Cannon

Best Historical Album:
“A Music Man Like Nobody Ever Saw” by Arthur “Big Boy” Crudup
More B.B. King: Here’s One You Haven’t Heard” by B.B. King
“Chicken Heads: A 50-Year History of Bobby Rush” by Bobby Rush
“I’m A Bluesman” by Michael Burks
“Genuine Blues Legends” by Pinetop Perkins and Jimmy Rogers

Best Bass Instrumentalist:
Biscuit Miller
Bob Stroger
Michael “Mudcat” Ward
Patrick Rynn
R W Grigsby

Best Drums Instrumentalist:
Cedric Burnside
Jimi Bott
June Core
Tom Hambridge
Tony Braunagel

Best Guitar Instrumentalist:
Bob Margolin
Joe Bonamassa
Kid Andersen
Monster Mike Welch
Ronnie Earl

Best Harmonica Instrumentalist:
Dennis Gruenling
Jason Ricci
Kim Wilson
Mark Hummel
Sugar Ray Norcia

Best Horn Instrumentalist:
Al Basile
Nancy Wright
Sax Gordon Beadle
Terry Hanck
Vanessa Collier

Traditional Blue Female Koko Taylor Award:
Annika Chambers
Diunna Greenleaf
Inetta Visor
Shaun Murphy
Trudy Lynn

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player Award:
Anthony Geraci
Barrelhouse Chuck
Henry Gray
Jim Pugh
Victor Wainwright

Best Rock Blues Album of the Year:
“Big Dog” by Albert Castiglia
“Keep Coming Back” by Mike Zito
“Promised Land or Bust” by Moreland & Arbuckle
“Le Me Get By” by the Tedeschi Trucks Band
“Alive in Amsterdam” by Walter Trout

Best Song:
“Blues Immigrant” written by Matthew Skoller and Vincent Bucher
“I Gotta Sang the Blues” written by Thornetta Davis
“Seeing is Believing” written by Ray Norcia
“Walk a Mile in My Blues” written by David Duncan, Curtis Salgado, and Mike Finigan
“Walk it Off” written by Toronzo Cannon

Best Soul Blues Album:
“Porcupine Meat” by Bobby Rush
“The Beautiful Lowdown” by Curtis Salgado
“Tiger in a Cage” by Johny Rawls
“Live! Notodden Blues Festival” in Wee Willie Walker
“This is Where I Live” by William Bell

Best Female Soul Blues Artist:
Bettye Lavette
Lara Price
Mavis Staples
Terrie Odabi
Vaneese Thomas

Best Male Soul Blues Artist:
Bobby Rush
Curtis Salgado
Johnny Rawls
Wee Willie Walker
William Bell

Best Traditional Blues Album:
“House Party at Big Jon’s” by Big Jon Atkinson and Bob Corritore
“My Road” by Bob Margolin
“Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue” by the Golden State Lone Star Blues Revue
“Can’t Shake this Feeling” by Lurrie Bell
“Seeing is Believing” by Sugar Ray and the Bluetones

Best Male Traditional Blues Artist:
Bob Margolin
John Primer
Lil’ Ed Williams
Lurrie Bell
Sugar Ray Norcia

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *