Matt Ryan Wins Big at NFL Honours

The sixth annual NFL Honours were presented from Houston, Texas – the honme of Super Bowl LI.

The first award of the night was presented by Zac Brown of the Zac Brown Band and Houston Texan JJ Watt for Defensive Player of the Year to Khalil Mack – Defensive Endfor the Oakland Raiders.

The Salute to Service Award went to Atlanta Falcons head coach Dan Quinn.

The award for Offensive Rookie of the Year went to Dak Prescott – quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys.

NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell and the children of Walter Payton – Brittany and Jared – introduced the finalists for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award – the NFL’s highest honour. Greg Olsen, Eli Manning, and Larry Fitzgerald.

The award for Defensive Rookie of the Year went to Joey Bosa – Defensive End for the San Diego (now Los Angeles) Chargers.

The Deacon Jones Award for the most sacks in the NFL went to Vic Beasley Jr – Outside Linebacker for the Atlanta Falcons. Beasley had 15 ½ sacks during the 2016 season.

The award for Offensive Player of the Year went to Matt Ryan – quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons.

The award for Comeback Player of the Year went to Jordy Nelson Wide Receiver for the Green Bay Packers.

The inaugural Offensive Line of the Year Award went to the Dallas Cowboy Offensive Line.

FOX Broadcasters Joe Buck and Michael Strahan introduced the newest class of the NFL Hall of Fame…
LaDainian Tomlinson
Morten Andersen
Jason Taylor
Kenny Easley
Jerry Jones
Terrell Davis
Kurt Warner

In August the seven men will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio and receive their golden jackets.

After the announcement of the new class, many of the existing members joined them on the stage.

The Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award went to Frank Gore – Running Back for the Indianapolis Colts.

The Clutch Performer of the Year Award went to Oakland Raiders quarterback Derek Carr.

The Greatness on the Road Award went to Running Back Le’Veon Bell of the Pittsburgh Steelers.

The award for Coach of the Year went to Jason Garrett – head coach for the Dallas Cowboys. Garrett called it the ultimate team award; adding that it was a privilige to work for the Cowboys. Garrett said that he accepted the award on behalf of the entire Dallas Cowboy team.

After the In Memorium segment Tariji P Henson and Randy Moss presented the fan voted Play of the Year Tampa Bay Buccaneers Wide Receiver Mike Evans for his one handed catch from quarterback Jameis Winston.

The FedEx Air and Ground Players of the Year went to Atlanta Falcons Quarterback Matt Ryan and Dallas Cowboys Rookie Running Back Ezekial Elliott.

Five time NFL MVP and two time Super Bowl winning Quarterback Peyton Manning presented the NFL Most Valuable Player Award to Atlanta Falcons Quarterback Matt Ryan.

Joined by former Man of the Year Award winners on stage, newly named NFL Hall of Famer Kurt Warner presents the Walter Payton Man of the Year Award to New York Giants Quarterback Eli Manning and Arizona Cardinals Wide Receiver Larry Fitzgerald. It is only the third time in the award’s 47 year history that there has been two winners.

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *