How Ohio Representatives Voted on the AHCA

On Thursday, May 4, 2017, members of the House of Representatives voted on H.R. 1628, the American Health Care Act of 2017. Unlike the vote for an earlier version that sought to replace the Affordable Care Act, often referred to as Obamacare, H.R. 1628 passed with a vote of 217 in favor of the measure to 213 against passage of the bill.

The measure will now go to the Senate, where Ohio’s Senator Sherrod Brown, Democrat, and Senator Rob Portman, Republican, have both indicated they are not in favor of the bill.

How Ohio Representatives Voted on the American Health Care Act (AHCA) May 4, 2017

There are 16 congressional districts in Ohio. The following is the official roll call of votes on the American Health Care Act by district:

  • District 1: Rep. Steve Chabot, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 2: Rep. Brad Wenstrup, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 3: Rep. Joyce Beatty, Democrat: Voted No
  • District 4: Rep. Jim Jordan, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 5: Rep. Robert Latta, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 6: Rep. Bill Johnson, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 7: Rep. Bob Gibbs, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 8: Rep. Warren Davidson, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 9: Rep. Marcy Kaptur, Democrat, Voted No
  • District 10: Rep. Michael Turner, Republican: Voted No
  • District 11: Rep. Marcia Fudge, Democrat: Voted No
  • District 12: Rep. Patrick “Pat” Tiberi, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 13: Rep. Tim Ryan, Democrat: Voted No
  • District 14: Rep. David Joyce, Republican: Voted No
  • District 15: Rep. Steve Stivers, Republican: Voted Yes
  • District 16: Rep. James Renacci, Republican: Voted Yes

The total vote in the House of Representatives was along party lines for the most part, with all Democrats voting against passage of the AHCA and most Republicans voting for its passage with the exception of 20 Republican representatives who aligned with the 193 Democratic members. Two of those Republican congressmen who voted against passage of H.R. 1628 were from Ohio – Rep. Michael Turner of Ohio’s 10th District and Rep. David Joyce who represents Ohio District 14.

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *