Home Run Derby Field Set

Ine week before the annual All Star Game festivities for Major League Baseball, the MLB has revealed the eight players who will be participating in the 2017 edition of the Home Run Derby on July 10 at Marlins Park in Miami, Florida.


For the National League reigning Home Run Derby champion Giancarlo Stanton of the Miami Marlins will defend his title against Marlins team mate Justin Bour, Los Angeles Dodger rookie Cody Bellinger, and Colorado Rockies Charlie Blackmon.

The American League players who will be competing to take Stanton’s title away are rookie Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees, Gary Sanchez also from the New York Yankees, Mike Moustakas from the Kansas City Royals, and Miguel Sano of the Minnesota Twins.

This year only Stanton has previously participated in a Home Run Derby event.

Last year the All Star Game and Home Run Derby were held at PetCo Park in San Diego – the home of the San Diego Padres – where Giancarlo Stanton hit a total of 61 homers to claim the title.

So far this season Aaron Judge leads the Major Leagues with 27 home runs; Cody Bellinger has 24, Mike Moustakas has 23, Giancarlo Stanton has 21, Miguel Sano has 20, Justin Bour and Charlie Blackmon each have 18 homers, and after missing a month of the season with a biceps strain Gary Sanchez has 13 homers.

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *