MLB Presents Gold Glove Awards

675px-Balls_ready_for_World_Series_Game_6_batting_practice._(30085087603)The season has ended and the Houston Astros have been crowned the winners of the 2017 World Series. Now it is time for the annual award announcements.

Baseball afficionados often tout that it is pitching and defense that wins games. The annual Golden Glove awards reward players for their defensive work.

On November 7 Major League Baseball honoured the players whose defensive prowess contributed to winning games whether it be sliding across the outfield to catch a ball, robbing a homerun with a jaw dropping catch, or making that perfect play at the plate to win the game.

Six of the 18 winners earned their first Gold Glove Award.

The 2017 American League Gold Glove winners:
Toronto Blue Jays pitcher Marcus Stroman
Los Angeles Angels catcher Martin Maldonado
Kansas City Royals first baseman Eric Hosmer
Minnesota Twins second baseman Brian Dozier
Tampa Bay Rays third baseman Evan Longoria
Los Angeles Angels short stop Andrelton Simmons
Kansas City Royals left fielder Alex Gordon
Minnesota Twins center fielder Byron Buxton
Boston Red Sox right fielder Mookie Betts

The 2017 National League Gold Glove winners:
Arizona Diamondbacks pitcher Zach Greinke
Cincinnati Reds catcher Tucker Barnhart
Arizona Diamondbacks first baseman Paul Goldschmidt
Colorado Rockies second baseman DJ LeMahieu
Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado
San Francisco Giants short stop Brandon Crawford
Miami Marlins left fielder Marcell Ozuna
Atlanta Braves center fielder Ender Inciarte
Chicago Cubs right fielder Jason Heyward

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *