2017 Latin Grammy Award Winners

On November 16 the Latin music community celebrated the best in Latin music with the Latin Grammy Awards in a gala event at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. Many of the artists dedicated their awards and performances to storm ravaged Puerto Rico.


The biggest winner of the night at the 18th annual event was the Luis Fonsi hit “Despacito”, a song Fonsi recorded with Daddy Yankee and pop star Justin Bieber, that took home four trophies.

Puerto Rican rapper Residente led with nine nominations but took only two home.

Juanes set a new record with 21 awards when he took home the award for Best Pop/Rock Album.

Latin star Alejandro Sanz was named the Person of the Year.

“Hamilton” creator Lin-Manuel Miranda was presented with the President’s Merit Award. Miranda gave his acceptance speech in English and Spanish.

Tommy Torres hosted the gala event with performances by Tiago Iorc, Las Migas, Debi Nova, Sig Ragga, Residente, Natalia LaFourcade, Carlos Rivera, Flor De Toloache, Los Macorinos, Juan Luis Guerra, Alejandro Sanz, Juanes, Logic, Alessia Cara, Bronco, Ha*Ash, Lila Downs, Banda El Recodo, Luis Fonsi, and Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Winners of the 2017 Latin Grammy Awards:
Record of the Year: “Despacito” by Luis Fonsi with Daddy Yankee
Album of the Year: “Salsa Big Band” by Ruben Blades Con Roberto Delgado, and Orquesta
Song of the Year: “Despacito” written by Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee, and Erika Ender
Best New Artist: Vicente Garcia
Best Contemporary Pop Vocal Album: “El Dorado” by Shakira
Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album : “Salon, Lagrimas Y Deseo” by Lila Downs
Best Urban Fusion/Performance: “Despacito” Remix by Luis Fonsi with Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber
Best Urban Music Album: “Residente” by Residente
Best Urban Song: “Somos Anormales” written by Rafael Arcaute, Igor Koshkendey, and Residente
Best Rock Album: “La Gran Oscilacion” by Diamante Electrico
Best Pop/Rock Album: “Planes Son Amarte” by Juanes
Best Rock Song: “Dejala Rodar” written by iamante Eléctrico
and “La Noche” written by Andrés Calamaro
Best Alternative Music Album: “Jei Beibi” by Cafe Tacvba
Best Alternativ Song: “Amarrame” written by Mon Laferte
Best Salsa Album: “Salsa Big Band” by Ruben Blades Con Roberto Delgado and Orquesta
Best Cumbia/Vallenato Album: “Ni Un Paso Atras” by Jorge Celedon Y Sergio Luis Rodriguez
Best Contemporary Tropical Album: “Bidimensional” by Guaco
Best Traditional Tropical Album: “To Beny More with Love” by Jon Secada with The Charlie Sepulveda Big Band
Best Tropical Fusion Album: “Olga Tanon Y Punto” by Olga Tanon
Best Tropical Song: “Bachata En Kingston” written by Vicente Garcia
Best Singer-Songwriter Album: “A La Mar” by Vicente Garcia
Best Ranchero/Mariachi Album: “Las Cara Lindas” by Flor De Toloache
Best Banda Album: “Ayer Y Hoy” by Banda El Recodo De Cruz Lizarraga
Best Norteno Album: “Piensalo” by Los Palominos
Best Regional Song: “Siempre Es Asi” written by Juan Trevino
Best Instrumental Album: “Spain Forever” by Michel Camilo and Tomatito
Best Folk Album: “Musas (Un Homenaje Al Folclore En Manos De Los Macorinos, Vol. 1)” by Natalia Lafourcade
Best Tango Album: “Solo Buenos Aires” by Fernando Otero
Best Flamenco Album: “Memoria De Los Sentidos” by Vicente Amigo
Best Latin Jazz/Jazz Album: “Dance of Time” by Eliane Elias
Best Spansih Language Christian Album: “Momentos” by Alex Campos
Best Portuguese Language Christian Album: “Acenda A Sua Luz” by Aline Barros
Best Portuguese Language Contemporary Pop Album: “Troco Likes Ao Vivo: Um Filme De Tiago Iorc” by Tiago Iorc
Best Portuguese Language Rock or Alternative Album: “Jardim – Pomar” by Nando Reis
Best Samba/Pagode Album: “+ Misturado” by Mart’nalia
Best Musica Popular Brasileira Album: “Dos Navegantes” by Edu Lobo, Romero Lubambo, and Mauro Senise
Best Sertaneja Music Album: “Daniel” by Daniel
Best Brazilian Roots Album: “Ao Vivo – Melodias Do Sertao” by Bruna Viola
Best Portuguese Language Song: “Atrevo (Tu)” written by Ana Caetano and Tiago Iorc
Best Latin Children’s Album: “Marc Anthony for Babies” by Varios Artistas
Best Classical Album: “Musica De Compositores Costarricenses, Vol. 2” by The The Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional De Costa Rica
Best Contemporary Classical Composition: “Sonata Del Decameron Negro” composed by Leo Brouwer
Best Recording Package: “El Orisha De La Rosa” by Carlos Dussan, Juliana Jaramillo, Juan Felipe Martinez, and Claudio Roncoli for Magin Diaz
Best Engineered Album: “Mis Planes Son Amarte” engineered by Josh Gudwin and Tom Coyne for Juanes
Producer of the Year: Eduardo Cabra
Best Short Form Music Video: “Despacito” by Juis Fonsi with Daddy Yankee
Best Long Form Music Video: “Musas, El Documental” by Natalia Lafourcade

Share with your friends

Follow Us

Enter your email address to get updated when we have new posts on the site and never miss a thing:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *